Woodworking Journal, Part I

A book I am reading now

Well, I decided for all the people out there in our sphere, who are young, unemployed or not in training/education, that I would start posting my journey into hobby woodworking so as to help people along the path of self improvement.

Motivation

For me woodworking is just an easily accessible hobby. Welding and machine tools for metal are expensive and would require lots of space I don’t have, and I don’t have a drivers license yet, so I cant really get into auto repair either (though that is coming eventually). Wood seems like the next best thing. I would say a hobby of a hands on, craft nature has several benefits. Firstly it is a superb way to take your mind off the shitty world, the more time you spend chiselling and sawing, the less time spent worrying about the future. I think a lot of people who have emotional issues or depression on the alt. right can benefit greatly from this. Another point in favor of craft work is that it can make you some extra money if you eventually get good at it. While this isn’t a concern for me since I am already going to machinist college starting on the 21st of September, for those of you who are not able, or don’t want to attend formal vocational training, there are some opportunities there. I know people who do loom repair. I am sure there is some money to be made doing cabinets or even something like birdhouses. Overall, a hobby is good because it feeds into the masculine nature of learning, doing hands on physical work, creating, and it all takes your mind off just abstract despair at the world. Damn good motivation if you ask me.

Getting Started

I have the good fortune of having an old family friend who has a fully tooled up wood shop he built all by himself. If at all possible, see if there is not someone in your area who is willing to share their insights with you on woodworking. It helps a lot to have someone guide you along. If not, you still have options though. The guy himself was never a professional carpenter or wood worker, he was just some average guy who retired around 1990 and just started reading wood magazines and books, and learned all by himself. If someone in 1990 could do it without the internet, you can certainly do it with the internet in 2015. I will give you a note of caution, if you do not have anyone to guide you along your path, do not start off buying power tools – stick to hand tools like hand saws, hand drills, chisels, etc. Until you know what you are doing, it is probably better to stay away from power tools, especially big ones like a table saw.

You kind of have to accept that you will look like a total ass starting out. Why the hell is it called a 2×4 if its actually 8 feet long? What kind of wood is best? What tools do what? You will look fucking retarded if you come from a non hands on background doing this stuff, but all I can say is just swallow it up, and remember that if you put in the effort, you can become skilled. Be a man and ignore those who would put you down – the desire for total social acceptance is a feminine, not masculine trait.

A table is probably a good first project, fairly simple to make all things considered. The original idea of my mentor of sorts was to use poplar wood, but that proved massively expensive (182 dollars to be exact). We had to resort to pine wood instead. Now, pine is a shit wood, but starting out, especially if you are on a low budget, it will have to do (Pine wood planks only cost me 20 dollars total). The table I am making in question is using multiple mortise tenon joints. Today I mostly just practiced making a tenon joint, which I have not completed. It took me like half an hour just to chisel half way through some thick wood to make the hole for the (joint) cheek to be put in.

Hard, not very successfully done, and confusing, but still a hard days work that leaves you sweating, and feeling like you still learned just a little bit more today. A good feeling. I would recommend it.

Stay tuned for the other parts coming up in the next month or so.

Outcast Kaitsar

Leave a Reply

